The MU SASHA Blog

The official blog of University of Missouri Skeptics, Atheists, Secular Humanists, & Agnostics

Just… wow.

Welcome to the official MU SASHA blog!

Please join our group on Facebook.

Dave Muscato here. I’m going to post a quick update about something I saw on Facebook that offended me. I rarely get offended; I just don’t find it all that productive. If I see someone promoting something that’s factually incorrect, I do my best to correct him/her, or at least point them toward research that shows his conclusions are flawed. Yesterday, we had our Ask an Atheist table set up at Speaker’s Circle, and someone asked me if she could be frank with me. I told her, truthfully, that it takes a LOT to offend me, because I’ve heard just about everything! If someone tells me I’m going to hell for what I do, I tend to shrug if off and think, “He is only saying that because he’s brainwashed. To quote from The Christian Delusion, ‘brainwashed people don’t know they’ve been brainwashed,'” and I don’t take it personally. But there are certain concepts, like female genital mutilation and the one I’m going to talk about today, that simply offend me, and I don’t make apologies for this.

A friend of mine on Facebook posted a status update/link that I just couldn’t believe. I’m going to repost it with the name removed:

Wow. Once again. We have to have their beliefs FORCED upon us. It’s not enough that they are allowed to do it, but we have to be accepting of it.

www.theblaze.com

SAN DIEGO (AP) — If a Marine spots two men in his battalion kissing off-duty at a shopping mall, he should react as if he were seeing a man and woman. If he turns on the television news to see a fellow Marine dressed as a civilian and marching in a parade with a banner […]
Someone else posted a critical comment, comparing the original poster’s (OP hereafter) comments to racism and questioning the neutrality of The Blaze. He replied:
The critical value of The Blaze is that they are fair and honest. There have been several articles that are critical of Republicans, Fox News, and others when they are wrong. The alternative? I’m not saying that the homosexuals must be ostracized. I am against “reprogramming” those who have a moral conviction that it is wrong. Why must they be made to accept it? And frankly, if a person is a racist, which is wrong, I have them being trained on how to think as well. Should we institute “thought police?” If a person is racist, then it will come out in his words and actions and they will suffer the consequences for it—unemployment, discipline, shunned from his pears [sic] etc., etc. And race is different that homosexuality. There is only one race—human. Homosexuality is a choice. And African Americans resent it when homosexuals try to include themselves in the civil rights issue.
I asked him for a source for those last two statements – that homosexuality is a choice, and that black Americans resent it when homosexuals try to include themselves in the civil-rights issue (ignoring for the moment that they are, of course, millions of homosexual blacks, too), but haven’t heard back yet.


I really can’t believe we, as thinking people in the 21st century, are still dealing with this kind of thinking. The OP is not an idiot. He went to grad school, etc. Yet he seems to think that having a moral conviction that homosexuality is wrong is an explanation per se. He also seems to imply that the idea that “homosexuality is wrong” is worthy of respect and tolerance for no other reason than that some people have a “moral conviction” in line with this. What the hell kind of argument is that??


In a comment, I asked the OP the following:


What is your argument that homosexuality is morally wrong? Why should the rest of us have respect or tolerance for your “moral conviction”? Is it based on anything concrete? What are your reasons for believing this?


I’ll update this post when he responds.


– Dave
About MU SASHA Administrator

University of Missouri SASHA (Skeptics, Atheists, Secular Humanists, & Agnostics) University of Missouri-Columbia http://www.muSASHA.org

2 comments on “Just… wow.

  1. Joseph Folkemer
    April 29, 2011

    Does he actually think that this spells the creation of a new ‘thought crime’ in the military? Has he ever heard of the military before now?

    We are trained on how to think and behave on a daily basis; It’s called professional growth and they way it is done is a major distinguishing facet of the military. The military has a strongly enforced policy about ‘counseling’ soldiers in their professional development. They tell us how to cut our hair, how often to shower, how often to eat and drink water, as well as precisely what they consider to be sexist, or racist behavior. Then, we sign documents that say we understand what they just told us!

    I admit, it all feels pretty idiotic at times, but it’s part of what allows the military to take people from all races, religions, sexes, socio-economic status, and bring them together to perform monumental tasks that require a fairly high level of coherence and precision among elements.

    If he is in the military, he obviously holds his right to hate homosexuals in higher regard than his professional duties as a soldier/leader. Tsk tsk tsk…

    • MU SASHA Admin
      April 29, 2011

      To my knowledge he is not nor has he ever been in the military. – Dave

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 29, 2011 by in Author: Dave Muscato.
